Find us on Facebook
Great Savings
Faith and Freedom Reader Series (19 Book Set) with keys
Faith and Freedom Reader Series (19 Book Set) with keys
Parent Resources
Mother's Little Helper (Family Life Education for Girls)
Helping You Home School
The Five Bushel Farm Series
The Five Bushel Farm Series
Author: Coatsworth, Elizabeth
Price: $18.00
Publisher: Bethlehem Books
Subject: Reading  
Grade: 5
Stock #: P-RD05-64
In Stock

This item is composed of the following:
The Fair American - $10.00
The Wonderful Day - $10.00

Seton's Description:
Though listed in our catalog as a three book set the book Five Bushel Farm has gone out of print. We will continue selling the set as a two book set with the remaining titles.

The Fair American - The Fair American is the name of the ship on which Andrew, from Five Bushel Farm, his friend Sally, and her aunt, board to go to France to search for Andrew's father. Once in France, Andrew and Sally meet a young boy named Pierre, the son of a French nobleman killed in the Revolution. Pierre is on the run from the French authorities. Pierre boards the ship, The Fair American, with Andrew and Sally, in order to avoid capture. As the ship leaves for America, Pierre and the others on board face adventure as his presence on the ship creates a dangerous situation for all. Copyright 1940. Softcover. 5.5 x 8.5 inches. 137 pp.

The Wonderful Day - This book follows "The Fair American". It traces the adventures of Andrew, Sally, and Pierre, as they enjoy an exciting day out on a horse ride. Copyright 1946. Softcover. 5.5 x 8.5 inches. 139 pp.

The books in this series are recommended for ages 8 and up and are part of a treasury of wholesome, character-building literature from Bethlehem Books.

Customers Who Purchased The Five Bushel Farm Series Also Purchased:
The Wonderful Day
The Fair American
Big John's Secret
The Reb and the Redcoats
Customer Reviews

Not the full series, July 18, 2011
Reviewer: Karen

I haven't read these books yet. We just received them. But I wanted to point out that they are not the whole series. The spines are numbered "2", "3", and "5". Upon further research, I found that the first book in the series is called "Away Goes Sally" and the fourth is called "The White Horse". So now my children don't want to read them until we get the first book.

A quick response, August 13, 2011
Reviewer: Official Seton Reviewer

Just a quick note to say that we intentionally do not carry the full series. We always carefully review each book that we carry to be sure there is nothing in it that our parents would not want their children to read. Not that Bethlehem Books does not do a good job screening their selections, but we have a somewhat different clientele than they do, and we want the choices we offer our families to be impeccable. In this case it was a matter of an old aunt and her “little negro page”. Each book is a stand-alone story and your children's enjoyment of the books should not be diminished by not having read any of the previous stories.

View Online Catalog!

A Seton homeschool family

Sign Up for Exclusive Offers

Seton Home Study School

Request a free catalog

Quick Order
Shopping Cart
Your shopping cart is empty.

Others Purchased

The Wonderful Day
The Wonderful Day

Copyright © 2006-2019 Seton Educational Media
1350 Progress Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
540-636-9996 or toll-free at 866-241-8819,
Privacy Policy
Send comments or questions about our site to